The Salute to Service awards are sponsored by the MSV Foundation (MSVF) and awarded during the Physicians' Gala to recognize members of the physician community for their exceptional commitment to care. MSVF believes physicians are changing the world, and are honored to recognize exceptional individuals who work tirelessly and selflessly to empower their communities and change the world for the better. 

MSVF selects individuals for their outstanding service in advancing patient safety, quality improvement and service to the uninsured and underserved communities, both in local areas and abroad. During the award ceremony, MSVF highlights the reasons why each of these individuals are selected.

In our 13th annual Salute to Service Awards, sponsored by The Doctors Company, we honored the following physicians during the 2017 Physicians' Gala. Click the winner's name to view the video honoring their accomplishments!

    Service to the Uninsured and Underserved – William K. Fleming, M.D. of Richmond
Service to the International Community – Leigh B. Grossman, M.S., M.D. of Charlottesville
Service to the Profession – Randolph J Gould, M.D., F.A.C.S. of Norfolk
Service for Advancing Patient Safety and Quality Improvement – Lo-An Nguyen, M.D., PhD, F.A.C.P. of Reston
Service by a Medical Student or Resident – Omar Salman of Roanoke